top of page

Buy Brand vs. Seamstress for American Girl dolls

Updated: Jan 13

I'm going to tackle the age-old question here. For those of us who just love the historic line of Pleasant Company/American Girl, we find outfits that are needed but high-end prices.

This article is intended to be both my opinion of if an outfit is worth the price and a resource for seamstresses who specialize in replicating rare, hard-to-find outfits.


This blog article is a work in progress as I come across new outfits. It is also aimed at the historical line and outfits that are discontinued, were never made, or cost upward of $100 on the resale market.



One more note before we begin. This is not a sales guide, any price noted is just an idea of what I've recently seen. Some of these outfits have different versions that can raise or lower price, the collector market flows freely and can swing up or down. I am in no way saying any items value. I am simply talking about rare outfits, their quality and my opinion.



Molly


Molly retired in 2018, and then rereleased with some items in July 2022.




selling for $179 on the secondhand market, this Victory Garden dress is stunning. My shameless opinion is to pick one up from my shop for $45.


Molly's Route 66 outfit is both iconic and follows her travel book. A must have for Molly collectors, but this outfit is listed on eBay for $500???!!

I cannot yet give opinion on how this feels (can't afford it🤣), but I can introduce you to a seamstress that makes an amazing reproduction.

(Coming soon)

At roughly $140 on eBay, this outfit sits squarely in the buy category for me. Between the hat, boots and canteen it is worth the price to buy the name brand.


outfit I didn't know I needed to make! This set resells for about $200, but you can purchase the skates for $20-$30. I vote for making outfit and buying the skates and shoes. I'll link when I find a seamstress who makes this.




Felicity

Felicity is such an iconic character, that many items can be found on the 2nd hand market. Here is a list of rarer items that sell above $100.


Another shameless plug for my business. There are 2 versions of Felicity's undergarments. On the resale market they sell for about $90. You can grab a set from my shop for $45, or pick individual pieces that you need (like 2 bum rolls!).


Be still my heart! Felicity's Summer outfit is just so beautiful. Dainty yet solid built just like a proper person in 1770's.

This set lists for $150. I vote for buying the AG version but will update my opinion if I ever see a seamstress make one that captures this feeling.


This one could be called a holy grail of Felicity collecting. Her Town Fair outfit is highly prized among collectors. I am sure you could find a replica outfit for less than $150, but it wouldn't include her windmill. The windmill appears to sell for about $130, whole outfit $150. So this is a "buy the brand" for me.



100% buy! This outfit is divine. Midweight wool, brass rivets, gold braid. (This one only sells for about $35 and snuck on this list because I own it and am obsessed with the quality. I may have to change this whole list to include every item made just so this outfit stays right here!).

Current sold listings on eBay show this beautiful Gala gown often sells for $40! I call this a buy to complement Felicity's gorgeous coloring.


Being able to easily find this on 2nd hand market NIB for $90+ makes this a buy!

Elizabeth

Selling right now for $80, this item is better purchased than made. Look at the straps on those shoes!


The complete set can be found on eBay for about $75 including shawl, shoes, dress and bonnet.

A brand named Luvvbugg replicates this outfit well for $35 (no shoes). Take a look on eBay for Lovvbuggs shop which has tons of replicas for rare outfits❤️.

I can currently find the AG brand riding outfit for about $50 making this a steal in my opinion. Buy the brand!


This set is priced at $150 on the resale market😭.

I am looking for a perfect replica now. $150 sounds a bit out of budget for many people.



Samantha

I'm not sure if I can name a more iconic American Girl doll. Samantha has stolen the hreats of millions of people. Her stories juxtapose hardship and prim society by showing her origins as an orphan and her best friends struggles with poverty while also showcasing the luxury and class of her life with her Grandmary.

Being so well loved has its perks in her doll line. Many items can be found for reasonable prices because Samantha was produced for so long!

She's been available for sale since 1986 as one of the original 3. With only a short retirement from 2009-2014, only to be rereleased as a Beforever character with a new look.



Samantha's Frilly Frock

I can find this set for about $50, making this a buy the brand! How absolutely stunning, look at those shoes.


Samantha's Bicycling Outfit

I can also find this super cute set for about $55 so this is a buy the brand in my opinion.


Samantha's Fancy Coat Set

Another part of the Beforever collection so it's not rare yet. This coat can be found for about $50 making it a buy in my book.

Samantha's Nightgown

Samantha's Holiday Set

Samantha's Flower-Picking Set

Samantha's Special Day Dress

Samantha's Travel Coat and Hat


Lacy Parasol


Samantha's Travel Bag Set


Cranberry Party Dress


Lacy Pinafore and Rosebud Circlet



Middy Outfit


Plaid Cape and Gaiters

Elegant Hat and Muff

Lacy Whites

Victorian Valise


Samantha's Nightgown

Kimono and Slippers


Samantha's Bathing Costume

Short Story Outfits

Skating Party Dress

Talent Show Dress


Play Dress and Pinafore

Tea Dress

Samantha’s 1904 Bathing Dress

Travel Duster and Hat

Lawn Party Outfit

Spring Party Dress

Samantha's Bicycling Outfit

Samantha's Bird-Watching Outfit

Samantha's Velvet Dress


White Party Slippers


Ribbons for Samantha


Party Shoes and Socks

Samantha's Beach Umbrella


Samantha's Bridesmaid Dress

Samantha's Bridesmaid Accessories

Samantha's Holiday Coat



Caroline

Caroline, the girl who started it all for me! Only being available for 3 years makes these items expensive. There are less made to go around. Get ready for small sticker shocks.


This set is listed for $75 on eBay right now. I think it's a good deal as this set will only increase in value. I will look for a replica when I get a chance. I like to play with outfits I purchase and would rather not damage the" real" dress.





Josefina



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page