top of page

Interview with YOYOBELLACO Luxury Bath Products

Updated: Mar 16, 2022

March Artist Spotlight

Interview with YOYO BELLA Co -Luxury Bath Products


Luxury Bath Bars

You have been making soap and bath products for quite a while now. How did you get into soap making?


I am in love with bath and beauty products. I was the one who looked for the soap makers at craft shows and it‘s instant attraction when I see handmade soap. The colors and scents and creativity amazes me the most. But as a consumer with sensitive and acne prone skin, natural and high-quality ingredients has always been important to me, and I understand the concerns others with sensitive skin have. After more than a year of research, I started making handmade soap and I love the chance of creating my own unique creations.

What are the differences between box store soaps and your products?

Store bought box soap is usually filled with harsh detergents and artificial ingredients. These ingredients tend to dry out your skin more and consumers are more likely to have allergic reactions to these artificial ingredients. My handmade soaps are made with a calculated amount of natural oils that provide an effective cleansing of the skin without fully stripping the skin of oils that the skin must sustain to look and feel healthy. With a combination of natural oils and their benefits to skin, handmade soap can be customized for a consumer. As a soap-maker I would never make any medical claims and a dermatologist should always be consulted for consumers with sensitive skin, but some consumers have seen improvement in their skin’s appearance.

Cinnamon Spice Luxury Bath Bars


What are some of the challenges you have being a soap maker?


Handmade soap has a mind of its own. As a soap maker, you’re never quite sure what’s going to happen. Safety is the #1 concern because of the ingredients and the extreme heat required when blending these ingredients. Even though you planned for a pink color, it might turn out green. Sometimes too much color added can make the soap ‘bleed’ and some customers may not be happy with that. A red residue on a white washcloth could be somewhat disturbing for some. For safety reasons, fragrances have limits when added to skin products because of potency. It’s important to know and maintain those limits to avoid skin irritation.


Cactus Flower Lux Bath Bar


For the readers who consider opening a bath product company what advice can you give them?


Making and Selling Skin care products is very time-consuming. It requires a vast amount of research, ordering and tracking supplies to create products that are skin safe and environmentally friendly. Packaging is an ongoing issue. You want the consumer to be able to smell and touch the products but also must keep that product safe for consumption. You will also become a part-time accountant to keep track of sales, purchases and government requirements as a business owner.

Sandlewood Vanilla scented Mustache Bath Bars


I wonder what tools and ingredients do you have to have to make soaps, bath bombs, lotions?

I have a room in my home dedicated only to my Business. Such ingredients range from silicone molds, color micas, fragrance oils and soap stamps. I purchase my oils in bulk and these gallons are stored alongside ribbon, gift boxes, organza bags and other accessories for packaging my products. Most business owners will tell you how quicky inventory and supplies add up!

Of all your products which fragrance or product is your favorite right now?

I really love my whipped Shea body butter. One of my favorite scents in Forever Red which is a very feminine, sexy scent. I keep a jar of body butter in my car, purse and drawer at work. Especially now with more handwashing than ever, I try to keep my hands moisturized and protected. At one time, I worked in the healthcare field and my hands would crack and bleed from frequent hand washing. In the winter months, moisturizing your skin is essential!

Forever Red Luxury Bath Bars- YOYOBELLACO

Since you have been in business is there a favorite memory or memorable moment you have had with a customer or other small business owner?


I really enjoy making Party favors for guests. I’ve created gifted sets for guests at Baby Showers, Weddings, Quinces and Birthday Parties. I enjoy working with the customers to create an extension of the party décor with everything from colors to scents and final display.

What plans do you have for the future? Where do you see Yoyo Bella Co. in the next couple years?

My ultimate dream is to own a Boutique. I would love to feature myself along with local artists and display their products for purchase in a fun and casual atmosphere.



What inspires your designs?


I enjoy seeing people’s creativity. I especially enjoy funny ideas from crazy online reels to posts to memes. Laughter is certainly the best medicine and helps maintain a positive balance in Life. Everybody has struggles and needs an outlet. I personally enjoy pampering myself after a difficult or crazy day. I make products that I think other people would enjoy and hope my products bring the ‘pampering’ we all need from time to time. Whether it’s applying a great smelling Body Butter to exhume confidence on that date or grabbing a bath bomb for a night in. You might see leopard print soap, you might see some glitter lips, you might see some red apples or black high heels on or in my soap! It’s all fun and I love to see people’s reactions!

What does a normal day look like in the life of a Soap and Body product maker?


A normal day is pretty busy! You don’t just wake up and say, “let’s make soap”. You have to assure you have enough ingredients to finish your product and plan each batch. Handmade soap requires a cure time of 4-6 weeks to allow evaporation of the added water to assure a hard solid bar of soap. Without that time, you could end up with a mushy bar that dissolves in the shower. So, one day is planning and creating. Another day is cutting and stamping your bars. Then the bars are placed on a special rack and rotated over a six-week period. The last day is washing all the dishes and measuring cups and spoons you’ve used in the process!

We are grateful to YOYO BELLA CO. for taking time from her busy days to interview with Magnolia & Willows.



Now, more than ever, it is so valuable to understand where our products come from to make sure they are sustainably sourced and non-toxic. With the rise of ecommerce comes many unknown, untraceable makers.

It is so cool to live in an age with so many creative minds who are working to make high quality products that impress customers.


YOYO BELLA CO. can be reached a number of ways. Follow them on Instagram at www.instagram.com/YOYOBELLACO or look them up on Facebook. All items are handmade and available for purchase. This maker can do some customization so reach out and meet the maker.


If you liked this post, please leave a comment and consider joining our mailing list. Magnoliawillows.com. We feature Artist Spotlights once per month to show up and coming makers, shine light on quality products and teach others how to grow their businesses.

Each Artist Spotlight is promoted with a giveaway of the Artist products and Magnolia & Willows product. Join our members list for your chance to win. One lucky winner is chosen by random to enjoy a small gift from us.


Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page