top of page

Make Cold Brew at home

Updated: Jul 8, 2022

I am obsessed with Starbucks Oatmilk Shaken Espresso. Starbucks does not seem to love me back though.

Between the long ass wait time and the ridiculous amount of times they have messed up my drink, I had to take matters into my own hands and recreate their awesome drink at home.


As an Amazon affiliate I can earn a small commission for any items purchased through a link on this page. I only link the items needed to make this drink.

These brands (Gevalia and Chobani) do not pay me to advertise, I just think they are great. I added Amazon links for anyone who does grocery shopping from home.

Starbucks did me in. I didn’t even know what oat milk was until they created ‘Shaken Espresso Brown Sugar Oat Milk Cold Brew’.

Thats a fancy way to say $6. Lol.


I started to get irritated because as a Mom I needed like at least 2 of these every day. I would drive over to Starbucks, wait in line (forever) and get my drink.

A lot of times they made it wrong because they were in a hurry and knew no one was going back stand in that line to return it.


So, I have been practicing this drink for about a year now and I have nailed the recipe.



Starbucks Shaken Espresso Oat Milk Cold Brew


Ingredients

- Water


Tools

- Coffee Maker

- Sauce Pan

- Spoon to Stir

- Containers for storage


We will make a simple syrup of brown sugar for this drink.

Syrups for drinks are really easy- save yourself money by making flavor syrups at home.



Simple Syrup

  1. Heat Saucepan on medium high.

  2. Add 1 cup water

  3. Add 1/2 cup brown sugar.


Stir frequently and allow to cook for 15 minutes.


Make coffee with Gevalia House Blend by using 1/4 cup grounds in 8 cups of water.

Bonus points if your coffee pot has a cold brew setting, but it is ok if not.


We now have everything to make our drink.


  1. Fill large cup with ice cubes

  2. Pour 5oz of coffee into cup

  3. Pour 3 TBSP brown sugar syrup into cup.

  4. Fill to rim with Oatmilk.



You get to enjoy Oat Milk Espresso at home without the long line, without the $6 and without the messed-up orders.


The best part of this drink is you can customize to your tastes. I don’t like mine very sweet, so I reduce my syrup from 3 TBSP to 1 TBSP when mixing into my drink.

The leftover syrup can be stored in refrigerator for up to one week.



My dear friend and I were initially purchasing Starbucks Cold Brew from the grocery section, but it is $6 for a bottle and frequently out of stock at our local Jewel.


I think Gevalia House Blend tastes better in this drink.



Magnolia & Willows is home to fine pop art candles, but we have so much more to offer. We have created this blog to share our knowledge about crafts like sewing and knitting, home economics and cost savings. We created a clean, green lifestyle that doesnt break the bank and we proudly share our skills.


Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page