top of page

18" doll sewing lesson 1 - PJ pants

Updated: Nov 10, 2022

Currently I run an awesome candle company named Magnolia & Willows.

We use the finest ingredients to hand pour candles in Pop Art designs.

I have been blessed to operate this business for a few years now and we have had so much love and success.


But.... my first love is sewing. I adore creating pieces that are unique, and personalized.

So, I guess I'm blessed to have a few creative outlets in life.

One day I plan to separate the candle goods and sewn goods into 2 different companies, but currently they share space on my blog and website.


I mention this because I want readers to understand that this blog article is about sewing a pair of 18" doll PJ pants.

Christmas time is slowly creeping up on me and I have a lot of nieces. I really want to make each of the matching PJs for them and their dollies.

Some of the dolls are American Girl brand, some of them are Our Generation. These PJ pants will fit any brand 18" doll because they have elastic waistband.


If you are familiar with sewing, you can snag the free pattern here.

If you are new to sewing don't sweat, this pattern is as easy and cheap as it gets and I'm going to walk you right through it.



First, we want to gather supplies. I've chosen an Avocado Christmas print in flannel.

You can use any fabric you'd like for this pattern. I suggest cotton, flannel or fleece.

If you are an experienced sewer, feel free to use satin or silk.


List of Supplies


- Fabric of your choice (2 fat quarters are cheapest or 1/2 yd.

- Matching thread (thread matches best if it is slightly darker than fabric)

- 10" length of 1/4" wide elastic


List of Tools


- Scissors for cutting

- pattern printed from this page

- Sewing machine or needle if you plan to hand sew

- iron unless you are using fleece fabric

- Safety pin to pull elastic through


Step 1- Print and tape the pattern.


Step 2- lay fabric out with a fold and pin pattern to fabric so it doesn't move.


Step 3- Cut fabric into shape of pattern. Note there are triangles. These are there to make sure fabric lines up when we sew.


Step 4- Pin the inner leg together. Sew inner leg. Do same for other pant leg.


Step 5- We will sew crotch now. turn one pant leg inside out and one pant leg right side out. Put the right side out leg into the other leg. Pin crotch together. Sew crotch together.


Step 6- Flip Pants inside out. They are looking like pants now! lol. Well add some elastic, finish seams and edges and be done.


Step 7- We need to add the waistband. Pants are inside out, Turn waistband under 1/4", iron. Turn waistband under again 1/4", iron.


Step 8- Sew waistband with seam. Leave small opening to put elastic in.


Step 9- Pin a safety pin to the edge of elastic, push pin into the waistband casing we just made. Pull elastic through until it is in waistband.


Step 10- sew elastic ends together overlapping ends by 1".


Step 11- Make sure elastic is lying flat in waistband. Sew the little hole shut.


Step 12- Pants are still inside out. Turn each leg up 1/4", iron. Turn each leg up again 1/4", iron. Sew each leg bottom.


Step 13- Rejoice! You are now the proud owner of 18' doll PJ pants that you made special.



I know there are a lot of steps to sewing any item. If you read it can seem daunting but think of the end result. For roughly $3 we have made something that is unique and full of love.

As a child I always wished for handmade items and toys. I can guess that is one reason I love to add pieces to my family's doll collection.

I look at these pieces as heirloom and snapshots in history. This year I will use horse fabric to make a pair. It will always remind me of how much joy we had from playing with horses. Next year maybe horses won't be cool with my daughter, but we will still have these pants to remember.


Here are the steps in Pictures

Step 1- Print and tape the pattern.


Step 2- Lay fabric out with a fold and pin pattern to fabric so it doesn't move. You can see in picture I am going to cut 2 layers of fabric at the same time.


Step 3- Cut fabric into shape of pattern. Note there are triangles. These are there to make sure fabric lines up when we sew.

Step 4- Pin the inner leg together. Sew inner leg. Do same for other pant leg.


Step 5- We will sew crotch now. turn one pant leg inside out and one pant leg right side out. Put the right side out leg into the other leg. Pin crotch together. Sew crotch together.


Step 6- Flip Pants inside out. They are looking like pants now! lol. Well add some elastic, finish seams and edges and be done.


Step 7- We need to add the waistband. Pants are inside out, Turn waistband under 1/4", iron. Turn waistband under again 1", iron. The easiest way I've found to turn fabric under and iron is to measure 1/4" line onto a piece of cardboard and use to turn fabric. You can iron right onto cardboard.


Step 8- Sew waistband with 1/4" seam. Leave small opening to put elastic in.


Step 9- Pin a safety pin to the edge of elastic, push pin into the waistband casing we just made. Pull elastic through until it is in waistband.

Step 10- Sew elastic ends together overlapping ends by 1".

Step 11- Make sure elastic is lying flat in waistband. Sew the little hole shut.


Step 12- Pants are still inside out. Turn each leg up 1/4", iron. Turn each leg up again 1/4", iron. Sew each leg bottom.



Step 13- Rejoice! You are now the proud owner of 18' doll PJ pants that you made special.


If you enjoyed learning how to sew these PJ doll pants, please consider subscribing to my website. I have many more patterns and ideas added daily to my blog.

We are a home goods commerce site selling the finest Pop Art Candles available anywhere and we are adding sewn goods to our site until the sewn goods and pattern library is so large it breaks into its own brand.



-

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page